August Camp NaNo – Week 1 (And a Half?)

To all you people who have been finding my blog because you’re wondering when White Collar season three is going to be on Netflix Instant Watch: it’s up now!

Go forth and enjoy the further adventures of Peter and Neal!

Neal Caffrey (Matt Bomer) and Peter Burke (Tim DeKay) - the reasons I can't concentrate when this show is on.

Seriously, I’ll take any excuse to post a picture of these guys.

I have been very, very good and I have ONLY watched the first episode of season three so far. Once I finish my freelance articles and get caught up on NaNoWriMo, that will probably change. 🙂

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

Minimum word count for August 10: 16,121/50,000

My current word count: 11,420/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: You probably recall that last Thursday was my birthday, so I did a whole lot less “writing” and a whole lot more “beer and pizza and books,” which frankly is how every birthday should be spent. Between my gifts to myself, gifts from friends and family, and a hold at the library coming through, I ended up with seven new books in my pile.

I also went south to visit family last weekend, so I didn’t get much writing done. I did, however, get my ass thoroughly beaten at Settlers of Catan.

(Related note: Do not play strategy games like Settlers of Catan or Dominion with my brother. His turn is like: “I’m building a city and putting out a knight and I get five of your cards.” And then my turn is something like: “I get a sheep!”)

Anyway, this weekend is a #WriteMotivation get-together, so while I don’t expect to get any writing done on Saturday, I DO expect to have a great time hanging out in person with some of the cool people I talk to on Twitter. 🙂

So yes, this month is not off to QUITE as good a start as I would like (at least Camp NaNo-wise), but I have broken 10k and yesterday was a 3k day.

(Also, I’m very excited to work on this project because two characters who didn’t get a chance to spend much time together in my ’06 NaNo novel are traveling together in this one. They’re best friends and they are SO MUCH FUN to write.)

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited, as always.

Mason dropped to the bench beside him and slung an arm around his shoulder. “Ari, Ari, Ari. See, I can sound disapproving, too.” He held up the flask. “This is a disguise.”

Exasperation tried to work its way out in a sigh. Ari pushed it back. Even if Mason acted like an idiot, nine times out of ten, there was a decent reason behind it. The task lay in figuring out when the tenth time was. “How?”

Mason spread his free arm and grinned. “I want them to underestimate me. You don’t have to show up drunk; they already underestimate you.” He lowered his voice conspiratorially. “If you’re going to be a spy, Sir Thane Jehms, it helps if one, nobody notices you, or two, nobody thinks you’re smart enough to do it properly.”

Leave a Reply

