Elves, Hobbits, and Allomancy: Book and Movie News!

First off, Christopher Eccleston—better known as “Nine” to Doctor Who fans like me—will be playing the villain in the next Thor movie, Thor: The Dark World.

He’ll be playing Malekith the Accursed, the ruler of the Dark Elves.

To say my inner fangirl is pleased that the Doctor is going to be in a Marvel movie is like saying the Atlantic Ocean is a little damp. I can’t WAIT to see what Eccleston looks like as a Dark Elf!

And you’ve probably heard this already, but Peter Jackson announced on his Facebook page that the Hobbit films will be three instead of just two.

Why no. I’m not excited about this AT ALL. (I only saw the original LOTR movies eleven times in theaters and own three different versions of the movies on DVD and dressed up as Arwen for Halloween and went to Trilogy Tuesday to see all three movies when Return of the King came out. I’m just a casual fan.)

And finally, Brandon Sanderson just finished writing the Wheel of Time series.

His blog post is a fascinating look at what it’s been like these past few years, working on completing one of modern fantasy’s most famous epics while still eking out his own stuff in between.

And even more importantly, here’s what he says about his upcoming projects:

Returning to the stories of Kaladin, Shallan, Jasnah, and Dalinar will be my next major project. You’ll also see me doing revisions on both The Rithmatist and Steelheart this fall—as I’ve made arrangements for both to be published next year or the year after. You’ll probably hear more about them in the days to come. And yes, I WILL be doing a sequel to The Alloy of Law.

Emphasis mine.

I won’t lie; I nearly shrieked with joy when I read that. As it was, I punched the air and danced in my office chair.

The Alloy of Law - autographed!

Because we all know how I feel about The Alloy of Law.

Between these three awesome pieces of news, it was difficult to keep the smile off my face all day. In fact, the knowledge that there will be a sequel to The Alloy of Law is almost enough to offset the news that another writer got a seven-figure deal for republishing their Twilight fanfic.

That news prompted me to jokingly ask Becca if I should revise a Star Wars fic I wrote when I was eleven. And that spurred a Twitter conversation involving Andrew, Avery, and Lady Jai, among others, the end result of which was yes, there should be a Star Wars-based fanfic mashup featuring space vampires, erotic sexy-times, insane amounts of angst, forbidden love between a Jawa and a Wookiee, and 101 things you can do with a blaster.

I’m so tempted to make that my NaNo project for this year.

11 comments on “Elves, Hobbits, and Allomancy: Book and Movie News!

  1. ooh! a jawa and a wookie making nookie! who wouldn’t read that?

  2. So wrong… and yet so hilarious!

  3. Becca says:

    I’m telling you – it would be crack-fic EPIC.

    And another round of “YAY!” for Christopher Eccleston!

  4. […] after this week’s awesome news, which was pretty much like the entertainment gods saying “Happy early birthday, […]

  5. Ryan Dunlap says:

    Congrats on the Sanderson sig! I’m just starting The Well of Ascension and am hoping to drop in on a panel or 2 at DragonCon this weekend.

    • thebnc says:

      Oh my gosh, the fangirl squeal that emanated from my room when I opened that book was UNREAL. (It was a gift from a friend.)

      I love the Mistborn series with all my geeky little heart, and I am so, so excited to know he’s continuing with a sequel to Alloy.

      And have fun at DragonCon, you lucky, lucky dog!

  6. […] be the crazy Star Wars/Twilight/Fifty Shades fanfic-parody-Frankenstein thing mentioned originally in this post. I have no idea how it will turn out, other than horrible, but it will be epically FUN to […]

  7. […] to say I was a little stoked upon hearing Christopher Eccleston would be playing the villain in the sequel is the understatement of the year. We don’t get to see much of him in this […]

Leave a Reply

