July #WriteMotivation: Week 2 Check-in

I’m researching!

*waits for the shocked gasps and disbelieving laughter to subside*

No, really, I’m researching. Something I don’t think I’ve done since college, unless you count looking up proper PHP syntax.

However. Remember that 2008 NaNo I’m intending to rewrite at some point? Yeah. I looked at it, looked at my world, and said, “There are many things I must figure out.”

Fortunately, most of my questions are of the “get the basics on Wikipedia and let your imagination take it from there” variety rather than the “exhaustively research every little nitty-gritty detail” variety.

On the plus side, I’m actually having a lot of fun with it. Most of it’s just building out more of the world, figuring out how certain things work, which is in turn helping me with plot points and ideas for future books. Good times for all!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

On to the July goal updates!

1) Finish August Buzz articles by July 13.
All right, I finished them July 15. But still, I got them DONE.

2) Read 1 book a week.
And this past week has been:
Storm by Brigid Kemmerer
The Glamour of Grammar by Roy Peter Clark
Three Weddings and a Murder by Tessa Dare, Leigh LaValle, Courtney Milan, and Carey Baldwin

I think I would have read more if I hadn’t started reading one of the self-pubbed/indie-pubbed books I downloaded for the Kindle.

My brain snapped three pages in and I started making MST3K-style comments with the notes feature and ranting to my roommate every few sentences. I gave it three chapters; when I still wanted to punch the MC into putty, I decided it was time to put the book down and read something that didn’t make me froth with rage.

On a happier note, I have acquired Heartless by Gail Carriger (so I don’t have to wait after I finish Blameless) and Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett.

YES, I am going to hop into the Discworld series! I’m stoked. I’ve been wanting to read it since I finished Good Omens awhile back. I started reading Guards! Guards! in the checkout line at the bookstore, and I was laughing out loud:

The truth is that even big collections of ordinary books distort space, as can be readily proved by anyone who has been around a really old-fashioned secondhand bookshop, one of those that look as though they were designed by M. Escher on a bad day and has more staircases than storys and those rows of shelves which end in little doors that are surely too small for a full-sized human to enter. The relevant equation is: Knowledge = power = energy = matter = mass; a good bookshop is just a genteel Black Hole that knows how to read.

I think I might be in love with you, Mr. Pratchett. And I’m only on page three.

3) Update blog twice a week.
Well, last week and this week I’ve managed three updates. Here’s hoping it continues the rest of the month.

On that note, are there any types of posts you want to see more? I’ve got a couple of ideas in the pipe, but if there’s anything you’ve particularly enjoyed and want to see more of, let me know.

17 comments on “July #WriteMotivation: Week 2 Check-in

  1. I have the first two books of the Discword series (The Color of Magic and The Light Fantastic). Fell in love with *Sir* Terry Pratchet and love reading his books (also loved Good Omens). There are so many funny books in there. If only I had more time (and money!). Enjoy them. Love them, as I have loved them, and you will know…joy.

    Anyway, good job on your goals so far. It’s awesome that you are doing the research to flesh out your world some more. 😀 You can do it!

    • thebnc says:

      Ah, SIR Terry! I do apologize. Bad Critic. No cookie.

      I really am looking forward to reading Guards! Guards!. That book had the funniest dedication I’ve ever seen.

      Thank you so much! I hope your own goals are going well (looks like they are)!

  2. I have all but the most recent of the Disc World series in ebook format and do intend to read them some after I finish Piers Anthony and his menagerie of fantasy and science fiction. You can’t help but to love Sir Pratchett’s writing and how turns a phrase or even makes a simple description of ordinary things.

    You’re doing wonderfully with your goals so far. Keep it. What I’d love to see more from you are reviews whether they’re humorous, serious, or something in between.

  3. I’ve wanted to read Terry Prachett for a while. I just don’t know how you do it, though. I can’t read a book in a day, or even a weekend. I did that once….I read The Deathly Hallows in 2 days on release day. It was like I was cramming. A week later I had no clue what was in the book! So, I had to re-read it. At a much slower pace. I just finished up a crit that took me 3 weeks. And I am working on another book that I am only 1/3 the way through and I’ve had it 3 weeks already! I guess it’s a matter of time as well. I have to budget it between work, writing, criting, reading and being mom and wife 🙂

    Congrats on your goals though! And yay for #writemotivation I love research!

    • thebnc says:

      I’ve always been a fast reader, which is sometimes not so good (I tend to skim description, which is why it’s the most difficult part of a novel for me to write). I was insanely frustrated with “The Lord of the Rings” because “Fellowship” took me an entire month to read.

      And thank you! I’ve been really enjoying the research aspect, which is a little surprising. (I guess it’s more fun when you’re not doing it for school.)

  4. bookstores as black holes…that explains why i lose so much time when i enter one.

  5. K.T. Hanna says:

    I love Prachett – Admittedly I’ve only read about 15 in the series (I get burned out on series that run too long) but I still love his flair and his humour. Hope you enjoy it!

    You’re chugging along with your goals – keep it up 😀 You can do it!

  6. I’m so glad I’m not the only one that reads an insane amount at a time, lol. As for research, that can be sooooo much fun. Especially when wikipedia is involved, hehe.

    • thebnc says:

      No, no, you’re not. I have a wobbly tower of books on my bedside table right now. It feels like all is right with the world.

      And I figure if I’m going to go down the Wikipedia rabbit hole, it might as well be a PRODUCTIVE two hours of life I lose.

  7. Kat says:

    Wow, you are doing amazing with your goals, congrats!

    I personally always like research. I’m writing a medieval inspired fantasy so definitely a lot of researching happening there. Finding out how to get light underground without electricity/technology? Awesome!

  8. Oo… I need to read Guards! Guards! now too apparently. That was excellent! And gave me a great giggle to start my day. =)

    Also I secretly don’t want you to ever read any of my novels now, no matter how polished they get, because I’m terrified of your frothing rage. Just saying. lol

    • thebnc says:

      Yes, you need to read “Guards! Guards!” because the entire book is like that. I kept laughing hard enough that I had to read passages aloud so my roommates would know why I was cackling like a deranged witch.

      And Lissa, I’ve read some of your stuff. You would have to lose a considerable amount of talent to get to the point that it would make me froth with rage. *hugs* 🙂

  9. […] July #WriteMotivation: Week 2 Check-in […]

  10. […] may remember that my introduction to Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series was the novel Guards! Guards!, which is the first book to feature the Ankh-Morpock City Watch, headed by Samuel […]

Leave a Reply

