Camp NaNoWriMo, June Goal Updates, and July #writemotivation

There’s something weird that happens in my brain when I type “The End.”

When I finished my first draft on this WIP back in January 2007, I ran around the house hollering like a banshee until my mother told me to be quiet and put up the dishes because the entire family was over for dinner. (Oops.)

When I finished draft two in January 2010, it was nearly 1 a.m. and I wandered the apartment like a ghost for thirty minutes, partly because I had been writing for almost six hours straight and partly because I had put my characters through hell at the end. (Yes, the end of the book changed drastically from draft 1 to draft 2. I have been assured it’s an improvement.)

Now, I’ve finished draft three, and I’m sitting on the floor in my room, not quite sure what to do with myself. I am trying to convince my brain that yes, for the love of all that’s holy, IT’S OKAY TO CLOSE THE WORD DOCUMENT.

So here’s the skinny on my goals for June:

1. Finish current edits on 2006 NaNo WIP!
😀

2. Outline 2008 NaNo novel, aka my Camp NaNo project.
This will probably get bumped to August.

3. Write 30,000 words on said Camp NaNo project.
Well, I wrote around 3,000 words on it! So 1/10th of the goal.

4. Finish Buzz articles by June 11.

5. Read at least one novel for a brain break.

Camp NaNo: Final Update

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

Minimum word count for June 30: 50,000/50,000

My current word count: 46,728/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: I realized around 11 p.m. on June 30 it was very unlikely I would hit 50,000 words, and mentioned this to my roommate.

“Sure you can,” he said.

I looked at him as though he was crazy. “Um, no. I’ve got about four thousand words to write. I don’t think I can do that in less than an hour.”

“Oh, that’s easy! ‘He mounted his trusty steed. “Giddyup! Giddyup! Giddyup! Giddyup! Giddyup! Giddyup! Giddyup! Giddyup! Giddyup! Giddyup! Stubborn horse! Giddyup! Giddyup!…”‘”

I hope you guys laughed as hard as I did. And NaNo people, I’ve got a new dare for November.

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited.

Kiral scowled at the fire. “I suppose I ought to apologize to you, then. It’s fairly clear you didn’t want me to kiss you.”

She heard a groan from the direction of the table. “Don’t say that.”

“Don’t say what? That I kissed you?” She turned to look at him, a formless shadow across the room. “I did. And then you apologized, which I can’t begin to fathom. I thought we’d established you aren’t responsible for the actions I take.”

His only response was a low, repetitive thudding. Kiral wondered if he was beating his head against the table.

July #WriteMotivation

Also known as “The Critic Needs a Brain Break.”

1) Finish Buzz articles by July 13.
2) Read 1 book a week.
3) Update blog twice a week.

I know I said my goal is to read one book a week, but let’s be honest here:

Holy Cow Books

My God, it’s full of stars.

You guys aren’t going to see me for a month.

13 comments on “Camp NaNoWriMo, June Goal Updates, and July #writemotivation

  1. Are those going to be read or have been read? I can say I’ve read more than that this past month while sorting through files and trying to make my desktop work. 😀 Best brain break I’ve had in a while!

  2. you were so close to 50k. arg! i think i would have died laughing or killed my roomie, maybe both.

  3. Viklit says:

    Come to encourage you in writemotivation!

  4. Becca says:

    Dude – nice work on finishing the edits on the WIP! You’ve totally earned yourself a break. A little reading, a little relaxing – just what the Doctor ordered.

    And yes, I mean Ten.

  5. […] because of the whole finishing-a-draft thing, and partly because I wanted to get at least ONE of the books in non-Kindle form. Why, you […]

  6. […] of finishing drafts” for me. With the exception of the third draft, which I finished on July 1 last year, every draft of my 2006 NaNo novel has been completed in January: January 2007, January 2010, and […]

Leave a Reply

