Camp NaNoWriMo & June Goal Updates – Week 1

First up, the goals for June:

1. Finish current edits on 2006 NaNo WIP!
I’ve gotten two more chapters edited!

2. Outline 2008 NaNo novel, aka my Camp NaNo project.
I’ve started outlining this. The end of this book is what’s really clear in my mind; it’s the beginning and middle that are fuzzy. Here’s hoping.

3. Write 30,000 words on said Camp NaNo project.
Haven’t started this yet. More on what I’ve been doing for Camp NaNo below!

4. Finish Buzz articles by June 11.
Movies: Finished. Weird news: Started. Will make more headway on that tonight.

5. Read at least one novel for a brain break.
Okay, not a novel, but a novella. I read The Governess Affair by Courtney Milan. It’s a short novella (99 cents on the Kindle) that kicks off a new series. I’ve talked before about how much I love her Turner series, and this novella has the same wonderful chemistry and wit that I’ve come to appreciate.

Favorite part: the letters back and forth between the hero and heroine. I just about died laughing.

And like I said, it’s short so you can read it quickly. Unfortunately, it’s short and I wanted to read a lot more. *sigh* I can’t wait until she launches the series in full later this year. Her website says late summer, so I hope that means “August” which means “WHEE BIRTHDAY PRESENT FOR ME!”

Seriously, go buy this book. It’s less than a dollar. GO. NOW NOW NOW.

On a somewhat-related note, I just discovered Milan has another series I haven’t read yet. Good-bye, productivity, it was nice knowing you.

And now, a Camp NaNo update!

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

I’m going to use the same format I used for NaNoWriMo last year because hey, why not?

Minimum word count for June 8: 13,333/50,000

My current word count: 16,338/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: Like I said, I haven’t done any writing on my actual Camp NaNo project, but I’ve finished two more chapters of edits and written an (unexpected) series of short scenes involving two characters from the ’06 NaNo that I love to pieces but who don’t get a lot of page time in the book.

I got one little bit of dialogue in my head, liked it, and wanted to get it down on paper. I thought, “Oh, this won’t take very long.”

Ten thousand words and two days later, I had four short scenes. They won’t be in the actual book — heck, one of the scenes takes place a full year before the story starts — but they’ve given me a chance to hang out with two characters I haven’t gotten to see much. And that’s made me very happy.

Very Short Excerpt:
Completely unedited.

“Young mas– mil– Master Hewlon, a messenger from the palace to see you.”

Mason looked up from the pile of papers, which he was about thirty seconds away from just setting on fire. There were bills and rents and repair requests and disputes to settle and contracts to review and every single one of them needed his father’s fecking seal. It was going to drive him mad. “Tell him to come back later.”

Abney gave a longsuffering sigh. “But he’s from the palace, young master.”

Ah yes, make the butler frustrated with him. That was one way to ensure he would know which title to use. Mason shoved his nose back into the papers. “Fine then. Send him in.”

Somebody else strode into the room. Mason didn’t even look up. “Put your message on the pile.”

“And where on the pile would that be, sir?”

Mason snarled. He didn’t think he’d ever snarled in his life. “Do I look like I bloody give a damn? Pick a place!”

2 comments on “Camp NaNoWriMo & June Goal Updates – Week 1

  1. […] 5. Read at least one novel for a brain break. Remember how I said I would have to watch myself, because if I wasn’t careful, I would go nuts and read multiple books? And remember how I jokingly said last week, when I found out Courtney Milan had another series I hadn’t read, “Goodbye, productivity, it was nice knowing you“? […]

  2. […] Novella: The Governess Affair. I have read this, I kid you not, five or six times. (Here’s a bit of my flailing about it.) […]

Leave a Reply

