The Critic Goes to Camp (and #WriteMotivation Updates)

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Between traveling last week for my brother’s graduation and Memorial Day, my internal clock gave up two days ago and has been on beach time ever since, perhaps better known as “It’s beer-o-clock.”

Since May is rapidly approaching its conclusion (in approximately 2.5 hours, CDT), here’s my final #writemotivation update for the month:

1. Finish current edits on my 2006 NaNo WIP.
Well, I finished 2 more chapters, and I’m nearly to the end of significant changes (meaning entirely new sections I have to add.) I’m not going to hit this one by then end of the month, but I’ve made enough progress with it that I’m not disappointed.

2. Post 3 times a week on the blog.
Yeah…this didn’t happen. Alas.

3. Get Buzz weird news and Buzz movies written and sent off by May 13.

And in other news…

June is the first session of Camp NaNoWriMo!

I waffled on whether I’d do this for a few weeks, and finally bit the bullet about 2 weeks ago and signed up.

Basically, Camp NaNo is a considerably less stressful version of the November NaNo. You’re still writing 50,000 words in one month, but instead of the standard message boards, you’re in a cabin with four to six other writers. Plus, no MLs, which means that any events we plan are out of the goodness of our hearts. 😀

So, what will I be up to for June?

Camp NaNoWriMo Participant

Mmm, s’mores and writing.

1. Finish current edits on 2006 NaNo WIP!
BY GOD I WILL DO THIS.

2. Outline 2008 NaNo novel, aka my Camp NaNo project.
This is one that I enjoyed a lot (got to 60k), but never finished. And when I went back and read parts of it, I saw why. There are a WHOLE lot of “and nothing happens” stretches. Which is irritating, because I have had the climax of this book in my head for 4 years now and I am DYING to get it on paper.

I want to try and apply the same outlining techniques that helped me kick writer’s block with my current WIP. The outline probably won’t be as detailed, but I think it’ll help me with direction, focus, and breaking the spate of “and nothing happens.”

3. Write 30,000 words on said Camp NaNo project.
Yes, the goal is 50,000, but considering I’m trying to wrap up edits on another project at the same time, I’m going to make my personal goal a little different.

4. Finish Buzz articles by June 11.

5. Read at least one novel for a brain break.

Possibly more. I have a tendency to go really, REALLY overboard when I get into something, so I’ll have to be careful so that “reading a novel for a brain break” doesn’t turn into “read eight books in one week.”

In totally non-writing-related news, I’m hoping to catch Snow White and the Huntsman this weekend.

How about you guys? Anybody else doing Camp NaNo? How was May for you?

One comment on “The Critic Goes to Camp (and #WriteMotivation Updates)

  1. […] how I said I would have to watch myself, because if I wasn’t careful, I would go nuts and read multiple books? And remember how I jokingly said last week, when I found out Courtney Milan had another series I […]

Leave a Reply

