#WriteMotivation Update and Graduations Abound!

Not my graduation, obviously. It has been precisely 6 years and 9 days since I graduated from anything, and I’m perfectly fine with that number continuing to grow. (Occasionally people ask if I’ve ever considered grad school. The mere thought makes me break out in hives.)

My youngest brother, Jackson, graduates high school this week, so I’ll be trundling myself off to southern Oklahoma to cheer for him and sucker-punch the first dumbass to blast an airhorn during the ceremony. Should be a fun weekend!

Graduation hats

We’re free! WE’RE FREE!

And after the graduation, I’ll have earned another kind of Adult Badge: Realizing Someone Whose Diaper You Changed Is Now a High School Graduate.

Then my youngest sister gets her driver’s license this August, isn’t that fun? (Realizing Someone Whose Diaper You Changed Is Now Legally Capable of Operating a Motor Vehicle!)

Anyway, #writemotivation updates!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

1. Finish current edits on my 2006 NaNo WIP.
Not much to update here. I’ve added a (fairly short) section to chapter 8 and its fallout to chapter 9, and now I think that means I’m done with the stuff that needed adding in the first part of the book. Onward!

2. Post 3 times a week on the blog.
Kind of back on track with this (did it last week!), but updates have been spotty because if I get free time, I’m spending it on number one.

3. Get Buzz weird news and Buzz movies written and sent off by May 13.

Can I get a hooray for progress? Yay! Progress!

While “study the craft every day” hasn’t been a goal this month (at least, not a stated goal), I’ve been spending quite a bit of time reading The Glamour of Grammar by Roy Peter Clark. As a writer and a bit of a grammar nut, this book is AWESOME. I’m a little bit in love, if only for lines like this:

“Fight to the death (or at least to the pain) for the serial comma.”

Serial commas and The Princess Bride? Be still my heart!

How has your month been going? Found any great books or great quotes?

Graduation photo courtesy Werwin15

9 comments on “#WriteMotivation Update and Graduations Abound!

  1. I know that whole “someone’s diaper…” thing you mentioned. Hub’s youngest sibling was 2 when we married. He just had his first child. Weird!

    Congrats, hooray, yippee on any and all progress!

  2. that’s stupendous quote about commas. i’ll have to read that book now. I’m currently reading robert mckee’s book “story”. it opens with “story is about principles, not rules. a rules says ‘you must do it this way.’ A principle says, ‘This works…and has through all remembered time.’ The difference is crucial.” not as catchy as the comma sentence, but i’ m hooked so far.

    • thebnc says:

      “Story” is on my shelf as a TBR. I’m a little more than halfway finished with this one and “The Writer’s Journey.” The interesting thing about “The Glamour of Grammar” is that it really makes me look at why I phrase and punctuate sentences a certain way. It’s a really fun book, and I hope to do a more in-depth review of it after I finish.

  3. I love the serial comma! I tried explaining it to Clay one time and when I kept talking about “the Oxford comma” he decided that meant the comma went to Oxford…. now he calls it “Professor Comma”.

    As for years passing, etc. etc… to me I’m still in high school. Well, I’ve evolved beyond high school, but a lot of my memories are as real and fresh as though it were all, quite literally, last week, so when I calculate it’s been 6 years since I graduated high school my brain pretty much explodes.

    • thebnc says:

      Haha, I know exactly what you mean. My brain finally gave up exploding and just started drinking after I realized I’m going to my 10-year reunion in October.

      • Good grief, next May will be my 10-year . . . I don’t know if there will actually be a reunion, but I might get together for drinks with the 2-3 people I actually still keep up with from my homeschool graduation . . .

  4. Becca says:

    Oy ve – my little sister will be fourteen this fall, so those days – the driving and the graduation… they are uncomfortably close already. *headdesk*

  5. […] photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. Between traveling last week for my brother’s graduation and Memorial Day, my internal clock gave up two days ago and has been on beach time ever since, […]

Leave a Reply

