May #WriteMotivation and April Goal Update

Guess what time it is!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

YES! It’s time for May #WriteMotivation. I just signed up. If you feel like joining in, you can sign up on KT Hanna’s blog. I’ll post my goals for May next week.

As for this week…

1. Upload at least another 6 weeks of Barenaked Archive posts.
This is where it was last week. I may take some time later this evening to get a couple more uploaded.

2. Post at least twice a week (not counting the Barenaked Archive posts).
Three weeks in a row, you guys. Nobody is as shocked as I am.

3. Finish the various critiques and correspondence that I have promised.
On the plus side, finished the two critiques I had last week. Down side, I have four new stories to critique before our group meets this Saturday. (But back on the plus side, I know I’ll have to have them done by Saturday!)

4. Edit 6 chapters in my 2006 NaNo novel.
HOLY CRAP YOU GUYS. I finished chapter 6 (which is now chapter 10… I went back through and broke up some earlier chapters that were way WAY too long), and then the next three chapters after that: 11, 12, and 13.

And those last three? I finished over this weekend.

Scanners Head Explody

This is how my brain feels right now.

So that means I’ve got just two more to make it through before April 30. The good news is one of those chapters is mostly written, and this will be editing. The bad news is one of those chapters needs to be COMPLETELY rewritten. From scratch. I have it outlined, but we’ll see how it goes.

5. Study the craft for at least 15 minutes every day.
Okay…so not so much. I did grab my copy of The Writer’s Journey off my bookshelf, and I will be trying to read that at least a little every day this week.

I also downloaded The Writer’s Idea Book on Kindle, which is FREE right now. If that sounds like something you’d like, get thee to Amazon or BN.com and download it for either the Kindle or Nook.

And now, I’m going to go get a #WriteMotivation cookie.

4 comments on “May #WriteMotivation and April Goal Update

  1. Thanks for pointing to “The Writer’s Idea Book” for the Kindle. I have the Kindle app, so i can read it anytime and anywhere. =^.^=

  2. jocelynrish says:

    Ooh, free writing related books sound awesome. Congrats on the progress you’ve made so far!

    Wishing you a very productive #writemotivation month,
    Jocelyn

Leave a Reply

