The Critic’s Only Somewhat-Anticipated Summer Movies

As I mentioned last week, there are only three movies coming out this summer that I am gung-ho on the opening weekend bandwagon for. However, I also mentioned that there were several movies that interested me.

These are the ones that I kind of want to see, but I have some reservations. These reservations range from not being crazy about the actors to worries about the tone to just plain not liking the trailer, despite the movie itself sounding pretty freaking great.

Probably won’t see any of these opening day, but I may make an effort to check them out while they’re still in theaters, especially if word of mouth is good.

Dark Shadows posterDark Shadows – May 11
Trailer

It Looks Cool Because:
Johnny Depp? Tim Burton? A vampire who actually sucks blood? Yes, please!

Having never seen the original Dark Shadows television series (except for a single episode in college that I watched for a class — yes, I took a class called Vampires and Voodoo and it was AWESOME), it’s difficult to say how close this sticks to the show.

It looks pretty funny, the cast is good, and I usually enjoy Tim Burton’s stuff (if only for the visual aspect — he does a great job at setting a creepy mood).

But…:
Admittedly, you can tell something’s a Tim Burton movie after about 15 seconds, no matter which one you’re watching. Batman Returns? Edward Scissorhands? Corpse Bride? He’s got the same tone in pretty much every one, it’s just a matter of how dark it gets.

Now, I tend to like his style…for the most part. However, each time I see one of his movies, I find myself wondering, “Will this be the one where I finally get tired of it?” If the rest of the film is strong enough, then the style is just icing on the cake. But if the style’s all it has going for it, well…

Men in Black 3Men in Black 3 – May 25
Trailer

It Looks Cool Because:
Josh Brolin is doing a young Tommy Lee Jones, which is pretty freaking great. He makes me giggle throughout the trailer. And it’s kind of cool to see Will Smith and Tommy Lee Jones back as Agents J and K.

Plus, Men in Black was loads of fun, and really great as a summer movie. If they strike the same balance as the first one, it could be really entertaining.

But…:
It’s been a long time since the last MiB movie, and let’s be honest, Men in Black 2 was not quite as good as Men in Black.

Plus, one has to wonder if they’re just trying to cash in on the 3D craze, since part of the marketing for the movie is “MiB3 – in 3D”. It’s great if the 3D works for a movie, but a lot of films seem to use it more as a gimmick than a tool. (And I fear this will be the former.)

Snow White and the HuntsmanSnow White & the Huntsman – June 1
Trailer

It Looks Cool Because:
Watch the trailer. Just watch the trailer.

Charlize Theron will be an awesome evil queen. Really, just take a look at her. She looks like a stone cold bitch. I’m almost willing to see this just based on her queen alone.

But wait, there’s more! I love what they’ve done with the magic mirror (it’s like she’s asking the T-1000 who’s the fairest of them all). Chris Hemsworth is yummy. So very many kinds of yummy. And the battle scenes look excellent.

But…:
Two words: Kristen Stewart. I haven’t seen her in much (especially since I haven’t seen any of the Twilight movies), but what I have seen has not impressed me. As Snow White, a lot of this movie will be riding on her shoulders. If she can’t pull it off, then the movie will fall flat.

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire HunterAbraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter – June 22
Trailer

It Looks Cool Because:
Abraham Lincoln. Vampires. And an axe. Tell me that doesn’t sound awesome.

This is one of those movies that you tell your friends about, and the second they hear the title, they say, “I want to see that!”

But…:
The trailer didn’t get me as excited as I’d hoped it would. It’s got some cool parts, but it didn’t really leave me hankering for more.

Then again, the first trailer for The Amazing Spider-Man left something to be desired as well (at least for me).

 

Seeking a Friend for the End of the WorldSeeking a Friend for the End of the World – June 22
Trailer

It Looks Cool Because:
Steve Carell was my favorite part of Anchorman, hands-down, and I’ve enjoyed him in everything else I’ve seen him in. He’s equally great at comedy and drama, and has made more than one otherwise-terrible movie watchable.

I also like the concept behind this — what if the last-ditch effort to save the world from utter destruction, which we’ve seen in so many films, failed completely? What would happen over the course of those last few weeks?

It’s not an action-packed summer blockbuster, but it looks like a lot of fun and it’ll be a nice change of pace from everything else in theaters during the summer.

But…:
How will this NOT be depressing?

The Amazing Spider-Man posterThe Amazing Spider-Man – July 3
Trailer

It Looks Cool Because:
It’s Spider-Man and I’m a Marvel fangirl. The newest trailer is excellent, giving us our first real glimpse of the Lizard, and I like that we’re actually going to see Peter’s parents (who are completely absent from the previous three films).

Plus, I really like the poster they’ve released, and it seems like they’re focusing on a different aspect of Spider-Man’s past (Gwen Stacy instead of Mary Jane, for example). And it’s certainly not impossible for a reboot to be just as good as (or even better than) the original.

But…:
For God’s sake, Spider-Man came out in 2002. 2002!! It’s only just now been ten years. Why in the name of sanity are they remaking it FROM THE BEGINNING? EVERYBODY REMEMBERS THE ORIGIN STORY, GANG.

There’s a chance that they’re not doing a complete reboot, and the origin scenes from the trailer are from a flashback sequence or something like that. However, I really, really hope they’re not going to waste a third of the movie on an origin story that most of the free world already knows.

This pretty much covers the movies that I’m most likely to see. Prometheus looks fairly awesome, but if my reaction to Alien is any indication, I’ll be better off waiting for that one to hit DVD so I can watch it with my protective blanket of fear. (Yes, I am a wimp.)

How about you guys? What movies are you looking forward to seeing this summer? Anything that you’re iffy on?

7 comments on “The Critic’s Only Somewhat-Anticipated Summer Movies

  1. I’m more than likely going to see MIB at the matinee when it gets nice and cheap. The others… may wait for the DVD unless my co-workers think they’re more awesome than what the trailers say.

    • thebnc says:

      The Amazing Spider-Man is the one I’m most likely to see in theaters. (As I said: Marvel fangirl.) Most of the others, I’ll wait till I see more from them or until word-of-mouth gets around.

  2. Paul says:

    Did you actually watch Alien?

    And congratulations on your award and especially for the chance you had to do a public reading of the story!

  3. man am i out of the loop when it comes to movies. i hadn’t heard of many of these and several look interesting – charlize theron as an evil queen. that WOULD be cool. i will tell you that i thought kristen stewart was pretty good in the runaways, so there is that.

  4. […] I previously discussed The Amazing Spider-Man, I had this to say: I like that we’re actually going to see Peter’s parents (who are […]

Leave a Reply

