April Goal Update #1

I wish I had something better to report, one week into April, but alas, I slacked off heavily this past week. I did make serious headway on my monthly freelance articles (I do two articles/month for a paper, and both are due around the 13th), which will help free up the upcoming week.

But the actual goals I have on this list? Not nearly as much progress as I would have hoped.

This week, I will be spending non-work hours on my April goals. Also, I have vowed not to turn on the devil box until I make some serious progress on the items below.

1. Upload at least another 6 weeks of Barenaked Archive posts.
Absolutely nada.

2. Post at least twice a week (not counting the Barenaked Archive posts).
I did last week! Let’s hope I can keep it up.

3. Finish the various critiques and correspondence that I have promised.
Got them done over the weekend! Huzzah!

4. Edit 6 chapters in my 2006 NaNo novel.
Guess who found a scene that needs to be added in chapter 4! Again! This girl right here!

On the plus side, we have a write-in coming up this Saturday, which should (theoretically) give me four solid hours of editing time. Of course, if past non-November write-ins are any indication, I’ll spend three hours talking and get a total of 250 words actually written.

5. Study the craft for at least 15 minutes every day.
Yeesh. I haven’t done this but a couple of times. Maybe that’s because every time I spend more than five minutes reading my current writing book (Scene and Structure by Jack Bickham) I find something else I need to go back and fix in my story. Which means I have to go back and edit previous chapters EVEN MORE.

So maybe it’s a form of self-protection so that I actually accomplish goal #4? Or maybe I should read something that isn’t the Scene and Structure book?

How are you guys coming on your April goals, if you have any? Seen any good movies lately?

(I’m debating between catching The Hunger Games or Wrath of the Titans this week. The former I want to see for obvious reasons. The latter, I have no hope of being anything but Greek history eye candy, but as we know, mythological movies are a weakness of mine. Thoughts?)

6 comments on “April Goal Update #1

  1. hey, you’ve made some progress. that’s something. and i loved the hunger games movie – well worth it.

  2. Definitely check out The Hunger Games. I wasn’t expecting to like it, but it turned out to be a good movie. It kept my attention all the way through which isn’t easy. You know, Goal number 4 sounds about right when it comes to write-ins, but they’re worth it regardless.

    May I borrow your scene and Structure book when you’re done? heh j/k Unless you want to loan it out. 😉

  3. Maybe we should actually bring the Box of Doom to the write-in this week? 😀

  4. I loved the Hunger Games movie too. Would be very interested to know what our resident movie critic thinks of it. =)

    And yes, maybe you should read something other than Scene and Structure for awhile, unless you want to keep using its wisdom for editing purposes!

Leave a Reply

