March #WriteMotivation Wrap-Up and April Goals

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.It’s April already? How did that happen? O.o

I kind of skipped my wrap-up post earlier last week because I wanted to wait until the month was actually over before I analyzed my progress. Plus, I had some more thinking to do about goals for April.

Unfortunately, I didn’t get quite as much accomplished this week as I wanted with #WriteMotivation. However, I did get a chance to do a critique group last night (Bekah and I set one up for the Tulsa NaNo region) and it went really well. I got a lot of really useful feedback, which is always great!

So, let’s wrap up March and take a look at what’ll be on the docket for April, shall we?

1. Upload at least 2 months of “The Barenaked Archive” posts.

2. Add at least 4 new reviews (movie, book, and TV).

I got three up. Number 4 is sitting on my computer, waiting for me to finish editing it, so it should be out this week. (My thoughts on The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, in case you were wondering.)

The other thing about this goal is that it was really a way to get me posting more. And frankly, I got 12 posts up this month, which is more than February (3) and January (8) combined.

So while I may not have met the letter of this goal, I met the spirit of it. Still, because I’m a stickler for details, I’m going to leave it unmarked.

3. Edit 5 chapters in my 2006 NaNo novel, and outline the damn thing.

I got about halfway through editing five chapters, but I did get the novel completely outlined. While I didn’t meet this goal, I am very happy with the progress I made on it.

4. Write another 10,000 words on my 2011 NaNo novel.

And as you know, I didn’t even get started on this one. My reasoning behind this goal went thusly: I just don’t want to leave this story hanging where it is. I want to finish a draft, even if it’s an insanely rough one.

Right now, I have three NaNo novels, counting this one, that hit 50,000 words but were never completed (for various reasons). And that bugs the hell out of me. I don’t like not finishing a draft, and I’m really enjoying this story.

This may be one that I try to finish during one of the Camp NaNos this year.

And now, my goals for April:

1. Upload at least another 6 weeks of Barenaked Archive posts.

2. Post at least twice a week (not counting the Barenaked Archive posts).

3. Finish the various critiques and correspondence that I have promised.

4. Edit 6 chapters in my 2006 NaNo novel.

5. Study the craft for at least 15 minutes every day.

If you saw the list of unread books on my shelf, you know I’ve got about a half-dozen writing books sitting there that I haven’t read (not counting the other half-dozen that I have. Read, that is).

So goal #5 could also be written as “Read the writing books you own, you idiot, because you have empirical evidence that it makes you a better writer.”

What are your goals for April? Did you accomplish your goals for March? Even if you didn’t, do you feel like you made significant progress?

2 comments on “March #WriteMotivation Wrap-Up and April Goals

  1. good luck with your April goals!

  2. Well done and good luck for April! I feel like I gained something from doing #writemotivation in March even though I didn’t actually hit all my goals. Sometimes I believe that even having goals that make me THINK about my next projects and where I’m going help keep me on track even if the goals themselves don’t always get finished the first time around. =)

Leave a Reply

