The Critic Gets Kreativ (Again), and #WriteMotivation Updates

I’ve been awarded! Twice!

Kreative Blogger Award

Shiny!

Both Valerie and Becca put me on their lists for the Kreativ* Blogger award. As part of the award, I’m supposed to thank the lovely people who gave it to me, give you seven facts about me, and then pass it on to seven other people.

I will give a big shout-out and thank you to Valerie and Becca, and say if you aren’t reading their blogs, you ought to check them out.

(Also, Becca has an AWESOME picture of the Tenth Doctor in that post I linked. If you can’t like somebody who posts pictures of the Tenth Doctor, then we’re not going to be very good friends.)

As I’ve already been tagged as a Kreativ Blogger before, I won’t give you seven more facts about me. (If you want to read what I wrote before, go here.) Instead, I’ll share a little story.

As you may have guessed, I’m a pretty big fan of Brandon Sanderson, and I absolutely love the Mistborn series, which is why you see the book over my face in every single picture I have on various social sites.

The most recent book in the series, The Alloy of Law, came out during November, so of course I couldn’t touch it until NaNoWriMo was over.

About halfway through November, I got a package from a friend of mine who lives in Boston, with strict instructions NOT to open the blue box inside until November was over. (Apparently it was to be my “Congratulations for surviving NaNo!” present.)

To keep temptation away, I shoved the package to the corner of my room and steadfastly ignored it for the next two weeks. You should be proud.

At about 11 p.m. on December 1, after a full day of work and final NaNo prep for the TGIO, I promptly tore it open.

This is what I found inside:

The Alloy of Law - autographed!

Michelle,

Keep up the great work encouraging writers to chase their dreams. Best of luck to you, too, as you chase your own!

When your first book is published, I hope it will be my turn to receive a signed copy!

Best,
Brandon

You cannot imagine the fangirl squeal that emanated through our house when I read that. Fortunately, I didn’t wake up my roommates.

Yes, I have the best friends ever.

Finally, I’m sure just about everybody I would tag for the Kreativ Blogger has already been tagged. However, here are some of the writers I’ve been reading over this past month, in addition to the lovely people who tagged me:

Black and Dark Night
Quid for a Quill
KT Hanna
ZM Wilmot
Jessica Therrien
WriteBackwards

And now, a #WriteMotivation update!

Because I got this up late the past two weeks, it’s up early tonight!

1. Upload at least 2 months of “The Barenaked Archive” posts.

2. Add at least 4 new reviews (movie, book, and TV).

Number three will be out tomorrow morning!

3. Edit 5 chapters in my 2006 NaNo novel, and outline the damn thing.

It’s outlined. Completely. And my God, I wish I’d done that sooner. Those little note cards have helped me so much with the problem areas of the story that it’s not even funny. Yes, it kicked me back about four chapters, but I’d really rather this draft be my LAST significant rewrite pass through the story.

I’m also through editing two chapters, with three to go. Woohoo!

4. Write another 10,000 words on my 2011 NaNo novel.

I’m thinking this one might get put off until next month. As I said last week, I’m really feeling the ’06 novel, and now that I’ve gotten it outlined, writing/editing is going so much more smoothly.

That’s all for this evening! Hope your #writemotivation goals are going swimmingly!

*God help me, it KILLS me to spell it that way.

12 comments on “The Critic Gets Kreativ (Again), and #WriteMotivation Updates

  1. If you want a quick fourth to critique, you can do my latest story, rough as it is. Ha Ha! But seriously, you’re almost done. Keep it up! I know you can do it.

  2. Becca says:

    Oh, lord – I would totally geek out with an equivalent gift from some of my favorite authors. What an awesome reward for getting past NaNoWriMo.

    • Becca says:

      Also – my Tennant gifs are unearthing all sorts of new Tenth Doctor fans. This is a wonderful thing.

      • thebnc says:

        *points to header* I’m a Tenth Doctor fangirl. It took an act of will to keep my Doctor Who write-up from being 600 words of “I love David Tennant.”

  3. yay! great post. i always love getting autographed books from my favorite authors. nothing motivates me more than thinking, “that will so be me one day!”

    • thebnc says:

      This is probably the most motivating thing that I own. Also, it’s a really fun book in general. If you like fantasy, you HAVE to read Mistborn.

      The Alloy of Law is more of an action/adventure romp than original trilogy, but I love them all.

  4. Glad you enjoyed the signed book.

    Best of luck with your writing. Keep at it, you’ll get there!

    Brandon

  5. Oh How awesome is that! I have a few signed copies of books lying about but none can compare to the personalized message you received in yours! I would have squee’d too! 😀 So happy for you.

    As for tagging me…well, um…I dunno what to say. Thanks!? hehe I’m getting ready to put together a post about this since you are the 2nd one to give me this award. I really REALLY hate talking about myself. What I find interesting, others may not….and vice versa. Technically, I don’t find myself a very interesting person…but someone does, I guess. 😀

  6. Holy cow, that is awesome!!!! Seriously, I can already hear the squeal you probably let out. lol

Leave a Reply

