Monday #WriteMotivation Update

This will be a relatively quick update, since Monday is fast approaching Tuesday. I didn’t get as much done as I would like (client calls over the weekend will do that to you), but I’m hoping that this week and next weekend, I’ll be able to make some serious headway.

Anyway, let’s see how I’ve done these first few days of March, shall we?

1. Upload at least 2 months of “The Barenaked Archive” posts.

Thus far, I’ve uploaded four, which takes me through the end of March. Next up: getting them uploaded through April.

2. Add at least 4 new reviews (movie, book, and TV).

Well, I’ve gotten one book review up (see: Soulless), another partly written, and a TV show review/article partly written. Yay go me!

3. Edit 5 chapters in my 2006 NaNo novel, and outline the damn thing.

I have notecards! Sadly, I haven’t gotten as much actual editing done as I would have liked, but hoping to change that this week. On the plus side, yay outlining!

One of my biggest problems with this novel has been The Big Swampy Middle, as my professor called it back in my Writing the Novel class. I have a Big Major Middle Event that I’m happy with, and I think the beginning and the end are in fairly good shape, but the stuff that takes me from beginning to the middle event and the middle event to the end is kind of “meh.”

I’m hoping that by sitting down with notecards and looking at the story from every angle, and condensing each scene into a few lines on each card, I’ll be able to really firm up the areas of the book that are bothering me.

And if I get my rear in gear, who knows? By the end of the year, I may get it to a state where I don’t balk at the thought of sending it out.

4. Write another 10,000 words on my 2011 NaNo novel.

I actually have about 300-400 words handwritten, so I need to get those typed up.

How about you guys? How’s March going for you so far?

5 comments on “Monday #WriteMotivation Update

  1. Ann Cory says:

    Great job Michelle! I know all about those swampy middles – have waded through many of those. Notecards were a great help to me, so I think it’s a great idea. Sometimes it’s about finding the method and process that works best for you. I’ve struggled with many different ways to outline a book and notecards have time and again been the thing that keeps me on track. I like visuals.
    Cheering you on for a fantastical and goal-busting month! RAH RAH RAH! 🙂

    • thebnc says:

      Haha, thank you! We’ll see how the notecard thing goes. I’ve never tried it before, so it will probably take some doing before it gets where it needs to be…

  2. Sounds like we’re both going to be busy at the write-in on Saturday 😀

  3. Awesome start and we are only 6 days in! You go girl! 😀

Leave a Reply

