Book Review: Soulless by Gail Carriger

I’ve been on a hell of a steampunk kick lately (what, you didn’t notice? Perhaps I haven’t talked about Abney Park enough…), so when I saw somebody on Twitter ask for steampunk recommendations, I paid close attention to what people responded.

Soulless by Gail Carriger One of the suggestions was Soulless, which is the first novel in the Parasol Protectorate series.

(Side note: Is “protectorate” not an awesome word?)

So, I did what I normally do now when I hear about a new book: downloaded the sample on my Kindle and gave it a chapter to catch my interest.

Here’s the title of the first chapter: “In Which Parasols Prove Useful.”

Tell me that doesn’t make you want to read more.

The omniscient narration bothered me initially. However, once I got past that, I couldn’t put this book down – in the “stay up till 2 a.m. in order to finish” kind of way. It was so much fun.

Alexia Tarrabotti is soulless, a fact that she keeps well-hidden from everybody. If a supernatural creature, such as a vampire or a werewolf, touches her, they will lose their powers and revert to full human as long as they maintain contact.

One of the few people who know her secret is Lord Maccon, a Scottish werewolf and the head of the London branch of BUR, the government office responsible for keeping tabs on all the supernatural beings running around.

When a vampire (very rudely) attacks Alexia and she kills him, she and Lord Maccon find out that other uncultured vampires have been appearing in London, and more importantly, rogue vampires have been disappearing. Now, they just have to figure out who, exactly, is behind it before they come after Alexia herself.

Like I said before, the tone of this story was just note-perfect. Here’s an excerpt, just after she meets an “unexpected” vampire for the first time:

Yet he moved toward her, darkly shimmering out of the library shadows with feeding fangs ready. However, the moment he touched Miss Tarabotti, he was suddenly no longer darkly doing anything at all. He was simply standing there, the faint sounds of a string quartet in the background as he foolishly fished about with his tongue for fangs unaccountably mislaid.

It just gets better as the book goes on. I could not stop giggling at the narration or the dialogue, and there were several parts that I kept going back and rereading just to laugh at them again.

Plus, the characters were equally great. Alexia is tremendously entertaining as a spinster who doesn’t fit in with her family, who always has a quick quip ready to confuse and bewilder her mother and sisters.

I was initially curious about reading a romance wherein the heroine is supposed to be “soulless,” but it works perfectly. Alexia and Lord Lord Maccon have a crackling chemistry with each other, which results in some very hot scenes and some very witty dialogue (quite possibly my favorite part of historical romances: the perfectly Victorian dialogue).

And then you have Lord Akeldama, a flamboyantly gay rogue vampire who is Alexia’s best friend. Though his dialogue is a bit difficult to read with all the italics, he is an immensely fun character, and the relationship between him and Alexia is, at its heart, very sweet. (He makes a very touching request from her near the end of the book, which I won’t spoil here.)

Overall, it was a really fun steampunk mystery/romance. If you like any of those mentioned genres, be sure to pick this up when you get a chance. (Or, if you’ve been looking for a steampunk book to try out, grab this one.)

I’m looking forward to getting the next one in the series when I finish wading my way through the rest of the books on my shelf.

On that note, let’s see how I’m doing, shall we?

Books read so far - 2.27.12

Pile #3 is growing...

Kindle books:
As You Like It by William Shakespeare
Dracula by Bram Stoker
The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole

Fiction:
Endymion by Dan Simmons
The Ancient by R.A. Salvatore
Long Lost by David Morrell
A Coral Kiss by Jayne Ann Krentz (Screw it. Life’s too short to read romance novels you don’t like.)
If on a winter’s night a traveler by Italo Calvino
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (I don’t want to hear a damn word.)
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
City of Bones by Cassandra Clare (recently added, thanks to my sister-in-law)
The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert Heinlein
The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson
The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

Nonfiction
The Pirate Queen: Queen Elizabeth I, Her Pirate Adventurers, and the Dawn of Empire by Susan Ronald
Techniques of the Selling Writer by Dwight V. Swain
Scene & Structure by Jack Bickham (Reading now!)
Characters and Viewpoint by Orson Scott Card
The Writer’s Journey by Christopher Vogler
EntreLeadership by Dave Ramsey
Story by Robert McKee

8 comments on “Book Review: Soulless by Gail Carriger

  1. In some ways I envy having such a short list of books on your at-home, on-your-shelf, to-read list. Just because it’s manageable. In other ways I like my haphazard bookcases too. I’m willing to bet there are at least 500 or 600 books in the room I’m in right now (at LEAST, though I suspect an estimate of 800+ to be more accurate) and probably in the neighborhood of 200 or so that I haven’t read yet.

    Keep up the reviews though! You’re adding to my “want to buy and read someday” list. As if I needed another list! lol

    • thebnc says:

      To be fair, that is only the shelf in my room. There’s another shelf downstairs that I haven’t even looked at yet. There are 3-4 shelves of books on there I haven’t read…but I don’t think all of them will get added to the “to-read” list.

      And there is no such thing as “too many books to read”! 😀

  2. very unusual story. looks interesting. i just finished scott westerfeld’s steampunk series which i would recommend. it starts with leviathan. i also envy the organization of your “to read” lists. the shadow of the wind was excellent and i love cassandra clare’s mortal instruments series.

    • thebnc says:

      Leviathan is on my list of books to get after I finish the ones I have currently, and I’m also intrigued by Boneshaker by Cherie Priest. (As I said, I’m on a steampunk kick.)

  3. […] I’ve gotten one book review up (see: Soulless), another partly written, and a TV show review/article partly written. Yay go […]

  4. […] I realized this week, as I finished Graceling by Kristin Cashore and Impossible by Nancy Werlin, that I hadn’t checked in on my original reading list since March. […]

  5. […] to Nimrod, and I went for one major reason: Gail Carriger was one of the featured speakers. And I’m a little bit of a […]

  6. […] mentioned before that I kind of adore Gail Carriger’s novels, and while I’m patiently (okay, not so […]

Leave a Reply

