The Critic Joins #WriteMotivation

As some of you may know, I originally did NaNoWriMo for the first time back in 2006 because a friend of mine called me up two days before it started and said, “Hey! Do NaNo with me!” And my first thought right after “That’s insane” was “Why not?”

Because that’s just how I roll, apparently.

Today, I saw another friend (and co-ML) talking about this #WriteMotivation, which is (so I’m told) a lot less stressful than NaNo, but with the same bonus of getting you a cheering section as you march toward your writing goals.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. Heaven knows I need the help. I can count on one hand the number of days I’ve written since NaNo ended. (I did manage to get out entries for two writing contests in January, but other than that, it’s been slow going.) Work has stomped me flat over the past few weeks, and I need some kind of motivation to get cracking on something other than watching MacGyver on Netflix.

(Side note: Richard Dean Anderson can rock a mullet.)

So I wrote up a few goals for March and signed up. Here’s what I’m hoping to accomplish over the next month:

1. Upload at least 2 months of “The Barenaked Archive” posts.

2. Add at least 4 new reviews (movie, book, and TV).

3. Edit 5 chapters in my 2006 NaNo novel, and outline the damn thing.

4. Write another 10,000 words on my 2011 NaNo novel.

So, throughout the next month, expect one post a week with #WriteMotivation updates. And if I’m meeting those goals, you should get a lot more than that.

How about you guys? Any shiny new projects on the docket? Joining #WriteMotivation yourselves?

6 comments on “The Critic Joins #WriteMotivation

  1. yes. just like you, i saw the idea for #writemotivation just recently, okay yesterday. i will be taking this dare right along with you guys. here we go…

  2. I joined! Bekah roped me in for this one too. I like the idea of the challenge, but Twitter? Eehhhh….. still not sure how I feel about that one. I already have a hard time properly keeping up with blogs, the last thing I need is more social networking!

  3. Welcome to the fray! Can’t wait to cheer you on…so I’ll start now!

    *\o/* Rah! rah! rah! Sis! boom! Bah! *\o/*

    • thebnc says:

      Woohoo! Cheering section in the comments!

      Seriously, nice to meet you, Jamie, and I look forward to getting to see you more (er, figuratively speaking) throughout the month.

Leave a Reply

