Trailer Park – The Good Stuff

Yes, I’m late to the party on both of these. But they are awesome, and thus, worth the wait.

The Dark Knight Rises

First up: the trailer for The Dark Knight Rises. I talked about the awesome poster that was released a few weeks ago.

It’s perhaps an understatement to say that I have faith in Christopher Nolan to pull this off. I have enjoyed both his Batman and non-Batman movies tremendously, and he’s one of the few directors whose name can put a film on my radar.

And the trailer, well…let’s just say that there are a handful of movies that I will make an effort to see in theaters next year, and this trailer has ensured that The Dark Knight Rises is one of them. This is how you get people excited

Taking place eight years after the events of The Dark Knight, it seems that Gotham has been enjoying a bit of a renaissance. But then the terrorist Bane shows up, and now Bruce Wayne must once again don the cowl of Batman to protect his city.

Yes, I am SO there.

The Hobbit

Now, this next trailer makes me go all gooey-fangirl in a way that few things do. In fact, I may even stretch it to say NOTHING makes me go gooey-fangirl like The Lord of the Rings, and thus by extension, The Hobbit.

Up until I watched The Lord of the Rings movies, I was of the opinion that movies, while awesome, would never be as good as the books on which they were based.

The Fellowship of the Ring proved me wrong. The trilogy ranks at the top of my list of favorite movies, and sentimentality demands that Fellowship take the top spot.

When I count it all up, I saw The Lord of the Rings films eleven times in theaters (collectively), and far more than that on DVD. I own three different versions of the films on DVD, and the only reason I don’t have them on Blu-ray is because I don’t yet own a Blu-ray player.

Yes. A fangirl I am.

You have to understand, I’ve been waiting for this movie since 2003. Literally the moment after I left the theater after watching Return of the King for the first time, I was ready for The Hobbit. And for several years, I was afraid it would never happen.

So to finally see the trailer, to see so many of the places that we came to know and love during the original Lord of the Rings trilogy, to hear the haunting dwarf song, well…as I said, I go all gooey-fangirl. It’s absolutely perfect, and I cannot wait.

What are your thoughts? Do these trailers meet your expectations? Exceed them? Make you weep for the future? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

