Books, books, books, books, BOOKS!

You may recall that one of my goals for this year was to read all the unread books currently mocking me from my bookshelf.

I have a terrible habit of collecting books — borrowed from friends, sampled on the Kindle, picked up at the used bookstore (God save me from the used bookstore; I never leave without at least 3 books in hand) — and then not reading them. Either I get distracted by something else (like NaNoWriMo or Doctor Who), or I just find about 15 other books that I want to read FIRST.

Well, I’m going to try to fix that this year.

Books I want to read in 2012

These are the books I want to read in the next year, organized in 3 columns: fiction books, nonfiction books, and books I have already finished in the past 2 months. Let’s see if we can get that third column a little taller, shall we?

Kindle books:
As You Like It by William Shakespeare
Dracula by Bram Stoker
The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole

Fiction:
Endymion by Dan Simmons
The Ancient by R.A. Salvatore
Long Lost by David Morrell
A Coral Kiss by Jayne Ann Krentz
If on a winter’s night a traveler by Italo Calvino
Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (I don’t want to hear a damn word.)
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon
The Moon is a Harsh Mistress by Robert Heinlein
The Alloy of Law by Brandon Sanderson
The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

Nonfiction
The Pirate Queen: Queen Elizabeth I, Her Pirate Adventurers, and the Dawn of Empire by Susan Ronald
Techniques of the Selling Writer by Dwight V. Swain
Scene & Structure by Jack Bickham
Characters and Viewpoint by Orson Scott Card
The Writer’s Journey by Christopher Vogler
EntreLeadership by Dave Ramsey
Story by Robert McKee

Books already read:
Miss Wonderful by Loretta Chase
The Lost Duke of Wyndham by Julia Quinn
Waiting for Nick and Considering Kate by Nora Roberts
Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey
Heart of Steel by Meljean Brook (Kindle)

I’ve actually made headway on this; Heart of Steel was added to the “read” pile on the first day of January (Short review: Find it and its predecessor, The Iron Duke, and read them NOW.).

Next up on my list is probably going to be The Wise Man’s Fear, or at least I will try to make a dent in that behemoth.

What are you reading? Got any recommendations for me to add to the list?

7 comments on “Books, books, books, books, BOOKS!

  1. Hey…Twilight is a guilty little pleasure and I actually enjoyed the books. They’re not literary gold, but I never asked them to be. They are, however, fun. Or were for me.

    Loving the list! Based on your suggestion (and the echoes of others) I’m going to be starting a weekly post on what I’m reading. =) That will probably start next week if all goes well!

    • thebnc says:

      That is an excellent idea. I should probably get more involved in Goodreads; I like to know what other people are reading and I’m always on the lookout for book recommendations. Sometimes you get introduced to new authors, and other times you find a surprising point of agreement with a friend!

  2. Who needs Twilight when you have Dracula? Actually, everytime I read Dracula I have to chase it with a few more vampire books. Vampires are addictive.

  3. […] that note, let’s see how I’m doing, shall we? Pile #3 is […]

  4. […] If you saw the list of unread books on my shelf, you know I’ve got about a half-dozen writing books sitting there that I haven’t read (not counting the other half-dozen that I have. Read, that is). […]

  5. […] Graceling by Kristin Cashore and Impossible by Nancy Werlin, that I hadn’t checked in on my original reading list since […]

Leave a Reply

