NaNoWriMo – Week 3

The Barenaked Critic Does National Novel Writing Month 2011Wow, week three went by a lot faster than I anticipated, as evidenced by the fact that I didn’t get this up as early as I normally do.

Happy Thanksgiving to everybody, and safe travels if you’re heading over the river and through the woods!

Minimum word count for November 22: 36,674/50,000

My current word count: 48,037/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: I continue to be impressed with the turnout of our group. We had 23 at our Sunday write-in and 11 at the Monday one. Last year, the number of people coming to the in-person events dwindled throughout the month. It’s been wonderful to see the turnout holding strong.

Plus, November 22 was ML Appreciation Day. One of our WriMos gave my co-ML and me lotion as a gift, and we’ve gotten a ton of thank-yous. It’s been really nice.

Other than that, this week has been relatively calm. Which, frankly, is a good thing, considering that Thanksgiving, the write-a-thon, and the last two write-ins of the year are upon us for week 4!

Very Short Excerpt:

The vampire raised his head to look at her with those awful, ice-blue eyes. His breath smelled of old blood. “I would drink you in a heartbeat, my dear. I would open your throat, right here,” his finger traced a line down the side of her neck, right over where her pulse pounded, “and drink to my heart’s content. As you screamed, as you fought, as you pleaded and cried, and finally as you succumbed to your last breath, I would drink you. And I would enjoy every single moment of your fear.”

Leave a Reply

