The Critic Discovers a New Toy

Yes, thanks to my co-ML, I discovered a new timewaster: I Write Like…

Basically, you plug in a few paragraphs (or a few thousand words) of your own writing, and it spits out what famous author you write like.

Of course, depending on what one inputs, one can get mixed results:

I write like
James Joyce

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

This is what I got for my current NaNo novel. Is now a bad time to admit I’ve never read Joyce?

Let’s see what happens when I enter my 2006 NaNo, which is halfway through its third draft:

I write like
Anne Rice

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

o.O

Is that a sign I need a few more rewrites?

Let’s try my Week 2 blog post:

I write like
Chuck Palahniuk

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

The first rule of NaNoWriMo is you do not talk about NaNoWriMo. The second rule of NaNoWriMo is YOU DO NOT TALK ABOUT NANOWRIMO.

(I haven’t actually read Fight Club, or seen the movie all the way through, for that matter.)

What about my 2009 NaNo novel?

I write like
Douglas Adams

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

WOOHOO! And I got the same result for my 2010 NaNo. SCORE.

And finally, NaNo 2008:

I Write Like by Mémoires, journal software. Analyze your writing!

And now I have the song “Shiver My Timbers” stuck in my head. Because of COURSE Muppet Treasure Island is the first thing that comes to mind when I think of Robert Louis Stevenson.

Who do YOU write like?

Thanks to Rebekah for the link.

One comment on “The Critic Discovers a New Toy

  1. […] slightly related news, do you remember a few years back when, in a fit of procrastination, I ran just about everything I’d ever written through the “I Write Like” […]

Leave a Reply

