NaNoWriMo – Week 2

The Barenaked Critic Does National Novel Writing Month 2011Wow. I can’t believe week 2 is over, and we’re halfway through the month. That’s not just for NaNo reasons; I have a lot of work-related stuff that needs to be completed before Thanksgiving. Which is a week from Thursday. How did that happen? I don’t recall giving permission for that.

Minimum word count for November 15: 25,005/50,000

My current word count: 31,653/50,000

Adventures in NaNoing: Sunday, November 13, was my highest word count day thus far, with just over 6,000 words logged. I’m thrilled and relieved to have the buffer again. I’m still planning on writing every day, but I have run into a few days where getting much more than 300-400 words just isn’t going to happen.

For example, Friday evening I went out to dinner for a friend’s birthday, which I was perfectly happy to attend, though I didn’t want to stay out till all hours of the night. I can be a semi-hermit one month out of the year, right?

I’ve also spent the bulk of the past week fighting a headache after work, which (understandably) impaired my weekday word count. The past two days I’ve done good with catching up on sleep, though, so hopefully I will not have that same problem going into week 3.

I’ve continued to be impressed with our write-in turnout. Last year, we dropped from about 20 people at the first library write-in to around 10 at the second. This year, I think we actually ended the second library write-in with the same number as last week: 23. Plus, we had another good crowd at the Wendy’s write-in, both in person and online. I can’t express how happy it makes me to see people coming to our events. I think we’ve got a really good group here.

Also, I have to give a shoutout to Lissa for introducing me to Abney Park. When I told her I was writing steampunk this year, she insisted I give them a listen, and lent me some of their CDs.

I. Am. In. Love.

They’ve become the official soundtrack for my story, which is surprising, since normally it’s very difficult for me to listen to music with lyrics when I’m writing (or at least, lyrics in a language I can understand). I will have to acquire more of their music soon; I’ve got at least another 30,000-40,000 words to write on this story.

In moderately related NaNo news, my co-ML bought me some DELICIOUS holiday tea. It’s not caffeinated, which makes it perfect for late-night writing when I don’t NEED to stay up until all hours. And the pumpkin spice tea is a-ma-zing.

Very Short Excerpt:
Remember, this is unedited. Whee!

She tried to take measured breaths, keeping her fury to a manageable level. “You have not answered my question, Mr. Cole.”

His grey eyes flicked from her to Wilson, and then he cleared his throat. “You could have your automaton release me. I’m not going anywhere.”

Genevieve narrowed her eyes. “Were you in my mother’s laboratory?”

His eyes met hers. “Yes.”

Genevieve felt as though her breath was stolen away. He had been in her mother’s laboratory. He had been the one who had run from her. What else did he know? She set her jaw. “Wilson, shut the door. I have some other questions for Mr. Cole.”

6 comments on “NaNoWriMo – Week 2

  1. Chelsie says:

    At this pace, you’re in for an early win this year! I totally gave up after day 1–my heart just wasn’t in it this month. Maybe in December, though πŸ™‚

    • thebnc says:

      Aw! Just remember: if you’re not in your story after day one, you can always switch to another one. Or you can rebel and finish a story that you started the year before (I’ll probably be doing that next year). Or you can blow up all your characters and start with new ones.

      We had one WriMo who got about 4k into her story, realized that she wasn’t feeling it, and scrapped the project to work on finishing her 2010 NaNo novel. (She’s kicking butt.)

  2. Awesome! I’m behind on my word count but I’m not going to give up!

  3. […] other news, apparently my NaNo traditions now involve getting music from Lissa and getting tea from Rebekah. I’ve gotten stocked up on Danny Elfman music (The Nightmare Before Christmas and Corpse Bride […]

Leave a Reply

