Anticipated November Movies

Let’s face it, I’m going to have about zero time to hit the theaters this month, what with NaNoWriMo and all. That being said, if I have the time, these are the movies I’m going to try to see:

Immortals

Release date: November 11
Summary:
A mad king and his horde spill across ancient Greece, seeking a powerful weapon that will allow them to free the Titans and wage war on the gods. There’s only one person who can stop them: the villager Theseus. But will he be up to the task?

I am a sucker for movies based in and around ancient Greece, Rome, and the mythology of both. 300? Alexander? Troy? Clash of the Titans? Bring it on, brother!

Immortals falls into that category as well. Even though I’m well aware it will likely be more style than substance, I’m still excited to see it. It just looks fun, and I imagine if I do get to see this in November, it will be a nice brain vacation from NaNo.

I’m also eager to see if Henry Cavill can carry a movie before he dons Superman’s cape in 2013’s Man of Steel. To my knowledge, he hasn’t had a major starring role before, so this will be a first. (Though hot holy damn, that man looks good without a shirt on.)

Also, Mickey Rourke as the mad king? Hell yeah!

Arthur Christmas

Release date: November 23
Summary:
Over the years, the North Pole has gone high-tech, answering the question for how Santa gets all those presents delivered in one night. However, when Santa’s youngest son, Arthur, discovers that one present has been left behind, he takes off on his own to ensure that every child in the world has a merry Christmas.

I have a soft spot for Aardman Animation, since I enjoyed both Chicken Run and Wallace and Gromit: The Curse of the Were-Rabbit. They have a way of making films that work well for both kids and adults, and this movie just looks adorable.

Stellar voice cast? Check. Fun Christmas adventure? Check. Santa on a giant, Enterprise-esque red ship? Double-check! It looks just perfect for the holiday season.

On the fence:

Hugo

Release date: November 23
Summary:
An orphaned boy lives in the walls of a train station, searching for the answers to the mystery left behind when his father died and left him a small metal man with a heart-shaped lock in his chest. When he meets a young girl with a heart-shaped key, the boy may be close to finding the answers he seeks.

If I were younger, I would be all over this movie. It has the same kind of “feel” that some of my favorite movies from childhood do (like A Little Princess).

Plus, it’s directed by Martin Scorcese, although I’m not entirely sure how well he’ll do with a kid-friendly film. (Then again, Peter Jackson did lots of gory schlock horror before kicking out The Lord of the Rings, so what do I know?)

My reservation comes because while it looks like a movie I would’ve enjoyed when I was younger, I’m not sure how well that enjoyment will translate now that I’m older.

As a kid, you’ll forgive a lot of problems that a movie has, something that’s far more difficult to do without the rose-colored glasses of nostalgia to help you out. And while I don’t think this movie will have problems, per se, it does look like it’s a lot more of a kid movie than a family movie (which tends to be geared toward both kids and adults).

If I have the time, I may catch it at a matinee.

What movies are you looking forward to this month? Or are you going to stick with DVDs?

Leave a Reply

