The Barenaked Critic Does NaNoWriMo

The Barenaked Critic Does National Novel Writing Month 2011Every November, I join the ranks of thousands of people across the world trying to write a 50,000-word novel in one month.

It’s National Novel Writing Month, and it’s one of my favorite times of year.

This will be my fifth year doing NaNoWriMo, and this year, my goal is a little different. It isn’t just to hit 50k.

It’s to write every single day.

That is harder than it sounds.

Like I said, I’ve done NaNo four times thus far, and I’ve hit 50k each time. Sometimes it was by the skin of my teeth, other times it was earlier, but it’s a goal I’ve met each time. However, I have never written every day during November.

Sometimes it’s for a good reason. There’s Thanksgiving, and family, and sometimes emergencies happen. Sometimes you just get too darn busy.

However, NaNo is about saying, “Hey, I want to write a novel, and I want to write it enough that I’m going to make it a priority this month.” I don’t just want to write a novel; I want to make writing a habit. It is, to an extent, but it’s not an everyday one. And that’s what it needs to be for me.

So, that’s my goal. I don’t care if I just get in 100 words a day, or if it’s editing a work-in-progress as opposed to getting words in on my NaNo novel. I’m going to write every single day.

Let’s see if I can keep it up, shall we?

9 comments on “The Barenaked Critic Does NaNoWriMo

  1. That’s an excellent goal, something so many writers struggle with. Good luck this year! Will you be updating with your progress on this blog?

  2. thebnc says:

    That’s my intention! Although, if it goes the way November typically goes, the beginning of the month will be full of happiness and coherent thought, while the end of the month will be one-word sentences and a couple of crazy pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Sounds like a wonderful goal. I’m sure you can reach it!

    • thebnc says:

      Here’s hoping. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’d also like to finish my story during November this year, but writing every day is the main goal.

  4. My goal is to write every day as well, especially since I want to come as close as I can to finishing my story this year (though I doubt it will happen!). My word count goal is 100k – I figure that’s reasonable after my 83k last year, right?

    Since I’m fairly certain my story won’t be finished by the end of November, though, my other goal is to write every day until it is – even if I have to write through Christmas, and my anniversary!

    Good luck to both of us!

  5. Jessica F. Cox says:

    Totally unrelated to this post, but I LOVE your Dr. Who banana quote. So many points ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. […] write outside of the write-ins. Writing every single day isn’t as important to me this year as it was last year. Then, I had to get myself in the habit of it because I hadn’t been able to work on anything […]

Leave a Reply

