Robin Williams – Rest in Peace

Yesterday evening, the news broke that Robin Williams had died.

I’ve spent so much time trying to think of something eloquent to say, but I just…can’t. I don’t have words.

So, in honor of Mr. Williams, here are three of his movies–well, two movies and a stand-up special–that mean something to me.

Thank you for all the laughs, good sir. You will be missed.

Aladdin
As with most people my age, Aladdin was my first exposure to Robin Williams, and remains my favorite of his films just for sheer nostalgia’s sake. The energy he puts into his vocal performance is amazing, and it’s likely one of the reasons the Genie is such a beloved character. Aladdin wouldn’t be half the film it is without him.

(Apparently he would tell jokes to the cast and crew of Schindler’s List to cheer them up, since it was filming at the same time as Aladdin.)

Live on Broadway
Since I grew up watching Robin Williams in family-friendly movies, I was understandably surprised to learn that 1) he did stand-up comedy, and 2) he did stand-up comedy with swearing. I watched Robin Williams Live on Broadway for the first time when I was a freshman in college, and probably saw it twenty times that year alone. It was hilarious, and is still one of my favorite live comedy performances.

The bit on the invention of golf still cracks me up.

The Fisher King
The movie itself was so much more serious than most of his other films that I’d seen, but his performance in it sticks out in my head, most particularly this scene below. As someone who loves romance of all kinds, Williams’s words here resonate deeply with me and why I love it so much.

Obviously, this is only a small fraction of what he did, so please, let me know what I’ve missed or what I need to see. What are some of your favorite movies of his?

2 thoughts on “Robin Williams – Rest in Peace

  1. He has always been a great actor and comedian. I’ve watched him since his early days as a visitor in “Happy Days” which then sparked his first series, “Mork and Mindy.” Robin Williams was just as funny and vibrant then as he was in “The Crazy Ones” this past season. I hope the execs at CBS realize they did a very stupid thing by canceling the best sit-com to hit TV since the late 80s or early 90s.

    Watch everything of his. Start with his first appearance in “Happy Days” and “Mork and Mindy.” Watch all his movies. I found “Dead Poets Society” to be one of his best serious roles. “Fern Gully” is a cute animated film where he played Batty Coda, but honestly, go to imdb.com and go through the whole list.

Leave a Reply

