March #WriteMotivation Update – Week 2

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

March marches on (haha, I slay me!) and so does the time I have to accomplish my goals. I’m doing so, slowly but surely, though this weekend will likely be mostly a loss because NIGHT VALE. :-D

I’m totally stoked. Full report next week.

- Write 10k on NaNo novel.
Stretch goal: Finish it.

So far, 5500 words, which puts me more than halfway toward this goal. I have no idea if I’ll be able to hit my stretch goal, but that would be really, really nice. Especially considering I’m fairly close to the end. Climactic fight scenes FTW!

- Edit 5 more chapters of MGG.
Stretch goal: Finish paper edits.

Almost through one chapter! Unfortunately, there are a couple of points in this chapter and the previous one that I’m not entirely happy with. Fortunately, they aren’t HUGE issues, so I think I’ll keep going and then unknot them when I start transferring my edits from paper into the Word doc.

- Write all Ferret A-Z posts.
I…still haven’t made much headway on this. I’m going to hit it hard this week and hopefully get the first three posts written. (And there’s a seventh post I’m supposed to write before the end of this month. Ack!)

- Read 2 books.
I’ve started The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin and I am loving it so far. It’s first person, which is rare in fantasy, but I really, really love Yeine’s narration and I love what I’m learning about the world.

How’s March treating everyone else? Anyone signing up for April’s Camp NaNo?

8 comments on “March #WriteMotivation Update – Week 2

  1. I signed up for Camp Nano! :D And oh man, I haven’t even started on the A-Z posts yet. :( *abject weeping*

    AND I AM SO EXCITED ABOUT YOUR NANO NOVEL. I CANNOT WAIT. YAAAAAAY.

    Also, Night Vale. *screams into the night*

  2. You’ve made lovely progress! Don’t worry your head about it too much. *waves giant shiny gold pompoms and makes some sort of Night Vale warning-esque comment*

  3. Whew! I have no idea what Night Vale is, but I’m off to find out. Good luck with this month’s goals!

    • Michelle says:

      “Welcome to Night Vale” is a podcast done like a community radio broadcast from a small town somewhere in the Twilight Zone. It’s hilarious, creepy, and generally awesome. Episodes are 30 minutes long and are released twice a month. I absolutely adore it, in case you couldn’t tell. :-)

  4. i have yet to listen to any of the night vale podcasts, but i did bookmark it to take the dive once i find some free time – ha ha ha! what’s that? enjoy your well-deserved nv break. you’ve made a lot of progress on your goals this month. yay!

Leave a Reply

