February #WriteMotivation – Week 4

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

It’s the last! Actual! Update! For! February! Whee!

I like exclamation points.

1.Write 10,000 words on 2013 NaNo novel.
Stretch goal: FINISH IT.

I hit 10k! And I finally tied in a scene I wrote back in November! HUZZAH!

I’d have hit it a little sooner, I think, but I kept having to delete words because they were out of character and it just made it impossible for the scene to proceed. It seems like every time I’ve run into writer’s block in this story, it’s an OOC moment that’s doing it. While it’s annoying, I am kind of grateful for it because it keeps me from veering too far off track.

2.Edit 5 chapters of MGG.
Stretch goal: Edit 10 chapters.

I got through another four chapters this weekend, which puts me at 9 edited total this month. Even better, I’m almost halfway through the book!

3. Get halfway through the novel I’m critting.
Stretch goal: Finish the novel I’m critting.

DONE! WOO!

4. Write a query for MGG.
Well, it’s written and somewhat revised! I’m still not totally happy with it, but then, I’m never totally happy with queries. I’ll keep poking at it in between revisions on the actual story.

So, WOOHOO! I actually hit all my goals this month! Drinks and exclamation points for everyone!

A reminder that #WriteMotivation sign-ups for March are open! Be sure to sign up and join us for encouragement and cookie-buttons. :-)

7 comments on “February #WriteMotivation – Week 4

  1. The month isn’t even over yet! Great work.

  2. tessgrantham says:

    Well done, Michelle! All your goals and a stretch goal, and working on TWO drafts no less.

  3. Blah, ignore my comment on your last writemotivation post. Got my tabs mixed up and thought I was on the most current one. IN OTHER NEWS, I’m glad you’re feeling better from last week :P.

    Also, CONGRATS ON YOUR GOALS! *waves pompoms*

  4. Leigh Caroline says:

    Whooohoooooo! Kicking some butt! *waves pompoms* awesome job, keep it up!!

  5. MAJK says:

    Nice work!! (I, too, like exclamation points!) I really like how you have stretch goals set up! Looking forward to March. Also I gave you a Dragon’s Loyalty Award http://wp.me/p1PhaM-2o6

Leave a Reply

