February #WriteMotivation – Week 3

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

You know, for an episode called “Riddled,” last week’s Teen Wolf had a disappointingly low number of riddles in it. I wanted something on the level of Bilbo versus Gollumn, dammit. (What? I have high expectations from riddles scenes. The Hobbit spoiled me.)

I didn’t get quite as much done this week as I have in past weeks, in a large part because I went down to see my family and wish my brother a belated happy birthday. I gave him his gift, and he promptly spent the next day teaching his daughter to say “Ah ah ah!” exactly like Nedry’s program does in Jurassic Park.

As soon as I got home on Sunday, I got hit with food poisoning, which meant I was completely out of commission all day Monday. I’m still clawing my way back to feeling “okay,” but at least I’m sitting upright.

1.Write 10,000 words on 2013 NaNo novel.
Stretch goal: FINISH IT.

I’m sitting pretty at ~6,000, which puts me right on target for the month. I SHOULD be able to write the other 4k before next Friday, especially since I’m not going out of town this weekend.

I’m also at a point of this story where I’m tying in a couple of scenes I wrote back in November, so it’s good to see how everything’s coming together. :-)

2.Edit 5 chapters of MGG.
Stretch goal: Edit 10 chapters.

I haven’t done any more on this since I hit my 5 chapters, but that will probably change this week.

3. Get halfway through the novel I’m critting.
Stretch goal: Finish the novel I’m critting.

I’ve gotten through another chapter! Woohoo! Unfortunately, I have 14 more to go before I hit the halfway point, so I’m REALLY going to have to step it up on this.

4. Write a query for MGG.
Haven’t gotten more work in on this one. Also on the list for this week.

Just FYI, #WriteMotivation sign-ups for March are open! (I know, I can’t believe it either.) Be sure to sign up and join us for encouragement and cookie-buttons. :-)

7 comments on “February #WriteMotivation – Week 3

  1. LadyJai says:

    ugh! I HATE food poisoning! I hope you’re feeling better now! <3
    Still, progress is progress and you've managed to do a lot of that despite your travel and sickness. :) Keep going!!! You can do it!!! And even if you fall a little short, it's ok!

    • Michelle says:

      Yes, I’m feeling much better, thanks! (Food poisoning sucks, but at least it passes relatively quickly?)

      I’m hoping I won’t fall short of my goals (even if I won’t hit some of my stretch goals), but a lot of it will require me to quit dicking off online as much as I have been. >.>

  2. Boo for being sick but YAY for doing really well on goals! You’ve made great progress!!

  3. heathercashman says:

    Sounds like you’re doing great for everything you’ve been through. Hope the last half of the month goes better. Eat a cookie and everything gets better.

  4. writerlaine says:

    Food poisoning sucks! Great job on the goals!! And thanks for the reminder about signing up for March… *whips head toward calendar in shock*

  5. Boooo on the food poisoning! Hope you’re in top shape again by this weekend!

Leave a Reply

