February #WriteMotivation – Week 2

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.

Because I’m sure you guys are wondering, yes, I shouted a lot at my computer during last week’s Teen Wolf. If the previews for this week are any indication, it’s not going to be much better.

For all the missteps they made during 3A (do NOT get me started on the writing for last season), it seems like they’re going almost overboard making up for it in 3B. I am alternately grateful and terrified.

1.Write 10,000 words on 2013 NaNo novel.
Stretch goal: FINISH IT.

I broke 3k for the month and 75,000 words on this story. Yes, you read that right. SEVENTY-FIVE THOUSAND WORDS. I have honestly no idea how this got to be as long as it did.

I also finally killed someone! They didn’t have a name, but I killed them! I’M SO HAPPY.

2.Edit 5 chapters of MGG.
Stretch goal: Edit 10 chapters.

I finished editing through chapter 7 this weekend! It’s been going pretty smoothly, which is nice, and I’ve managed to cut out a couple of scenes that were longer than necessary or more circular than they should’ve been. Another solid editing bout should get me through chapter 12, which will also get me halfway through the book.

3. Get halfway through the novel I’m critting.
Stretch goal: Finish the novel I’m critting.

Sadly, I didn’t make much more headway on this one.

4. Write a query for MGG.
Well, I have something! Problem: It’s in first person, which is usually a bad idea for queries. So, I’ll be trying to edit it into something more acceptable. (But editing is better from creating entirely from scratch, yes?)

So how are you guys doing?

16 comments on “February #WriteMotivation – Week 2

  1. LadyJai says:

    YAY for progress! and yay for killing someone! It’s fun, without the consequences! hehe
    I’m still trying for my goals. Here’s hoping! <3

    • Michelle says:

      You know, most of my stories, somebody ends up dead within the first 10 chapters. It’s throwing me off to only just NOW have a dead body.

      *hugs* And good luck on your own goals! Hope February is treating you well. :-)

  2. Yay for editing! I can’t wait to see the new and improved MGG! :D

    I too was able to get some progress this weekend on my monthly goals. Let’s make February a fabulously productive month!

  3. LOL I love how excited you are about killing a character. I get the same way.
    You doing awesome. Good luck with the query. =)

    • Michelle says:

      Most of the writers I’ve met get pretty excited about killing characters off. I wonder what that says about us? :-)

      My only regret is that it didn’t happen in November, and as such I cannot add said character to the graveyard. (Then again, said character has no name, so I couldn’t have added them ANYWAY.)

      And thank you!

  4. Editing a query is indeed infinitely easier than starting from scratch, and really, POV changes aren’t too hard to make, especially going from 1st to 3rd. And congrats on the ACTUAL editing – wish mine was going that fast >_<.

    • Michelle says:

      Yeah, that’s why I’m glad I have SOMETHING down, even if I’m going to have to end up revising most of it.

      And *hugs* you’ll get there! TOGETHER WE WILL TACKLE THE EDITING MONSTERS.

  5. heathercashman says:

    Hooray for the finished goals! You’re doing great! I hate queries and luckily have some amazing CPs who could help. No one should have to write their own query.

  6. I am *so* behind on Teen Wolf. But I needed the reminder that I should be watching it. Thanks! (Full disclosure: I watch for Derek. Mmmm Derek. And to a lesser degree Stiles).
    You’re trucking along so much better than I am with this writemotivation stuff that you barely need this. I’m doing it anyway.
    *shakes the pom-poms of productivity for you*

    • Michelle says:

      Oh, my friend, let us discuss some of the reasons I watch this show. I’m not sure where you’ve stopped, but at 6 episodes in, 3B is already lightyears ahead of 3A in terms of story quality, IMO.

      In other news, apparently there are quite a few of us WriteMotivation peeps who are also Teen Wolf fans? This is awesome to me.

      And thank you! Productivity pompoms are the best! :-)

  7. Yay for killing characters! I enjoy that so much :) It looks like you’re making lots of progress on your goals, so keep that momentum!

  8. you killed someone without even naming them? so heartless, so fun. great progress on your query. they are always the biggest challenge, yes? now, send that puppy out! i mean, when it’s ready, of course.

Leave a Reply

